The Wisdom of Others Pt. 2

Posted on July 30, 2009

0


Richard Marcinko, founder of US Navy SEAL Team 6, did a great job summarizing his ideas about being a combat leader, and a business leader. I present his summaries below, and I encourage you to read his biography and his book on business leadership. There’s much more to them than these lists.

The Leadership Code-

  1. I will test my theories on myself first.  I will be my own guinea pig.
  2. I will be totally committed to what I believe, and I will risk all that I have for those beliefs.
  3. I will back my subordinates all the way when they take reasonable risks to help me achieve my goals.
  4. I will not punish my people for making mistakes, I’ll only punish them for not learning from their mistakes.
  5. I will not be afraid to take action, because I know that almost any action is better than inaction.  And I know that sometimes not acting is the boldest action of all.
  6. I will always make it crystal clear where I stand and what I believe.
  7. I will always be easy to find:  I will be at the center of the battle.

The Ten Commandments of SpecWar-

  1. I am the War Lord and the wrathful God of Combat and I will always lead you from the front, not the rear.
  2. I will treat you all alike- just like shit.
  3. Thou shalt do nothing I will not do first, and thus will you be created Warriors in My deadly image.
  4. I shall punish thy bodies because the more thou sweatest in training, the less thou bleedest in combat.
  5. Indeed, if thou hurteth in thy efforts and thou suffer painful dings, thou art doing it right.
  6. Thou hast not to like it, thou hast just to do it.
  7. Thou shalt Keep It Simple, Stupid.
  8. Thou shalt never assume.
  9. Verily, thou art not paid for thy methods, but for thy results, by which meaneth thou shalt kill thine enemy by any means available before he killeth you.
  10. Thou shalt, in thy Warrior’s Mind and Soul, always remember My ultimate and final Commandment:  There Are No Rules- Thou Shalt Win at All Cost.
