Museum of Flight

Posted on August 13, 2009

0


My long-suffering wife recently took and afternoon and spent it with me at the Seattle Museum of Flight. It’s not really her thing, but it’s definitely mine. I love museums, I’m an aviation enthusiast, and I’m a military history buff. She loves me, so she wanted to share the time with me. We were both surprised to discover we’d spent five hours wandering the exhibits.


J. Elroy McCaw Personal Courage Wing

This was my destination in the museum. This exhibit is two stories. My pictures are all from the 1st floor, which is the WWII exhibit. Upstairs is the WWI exhibit. The breadth of the exhibit is amazing. Almost every aircraft of WWII appears in the exhibit, if only as a 1/72 scale model. The stories of personal courage are astonishing. Jo and I were particularly moved by the stories of the Free Polish aviators, and the wonderful display of artifacts and stories from women aviators. I was ashamed when I realized we didn’t recognize those wonderful female volunteers as veterans until 1979.

T.A. Wilson Great Gallery

The Great Gallery covers most of the first two centuries of flight, from the Wright Brothers to the Space Age. I loved the opportunities to sit in the cockpit of an SR-71 Blackbird, and of an F/A-18 Hornet. Racing planes, mail planes, early passenger planes, Alaskan bush planes, UAVs, cruise missiles – there’s even a section from the International Space Station. Admission to the museum is inexpensive, and absolutely worth it if you’re interested in aviation the history of one of Seattle’s major industries.

Visit the museum website (link in the opening sentence) to see what the current exhibits are, and what’s available in the Airpark.

