Running Insights 4

Posted on August 23, 2009

0


I must know a lot about running, because this topic just won’t leave me alone.

  1. Slow down to go fast. Many people, when they start, wonder how fast they should run. The answer is that if you can chat with a running partner, that’s fast enough. Slower runs build your VO2 Max, which is the Maximum Volume of Oxygen that your body can process. There are no wasted miles!
  2. You have to go. Average bowel transit time for someone who doesn’t do a lot of aerobic exercise is roughly 48 hours. Your transit time is going to be about half that. It’s normal for runners. That said, see your doctor if you have any concerns.
  3. You’re going to chafe. Especially on hot days. Especially on long runs. If everything fits properly, go to a running store and talk to runners there. They can point you to lubricants, and suggest strategic spots for pre-emptive band-aids. Yes, men, your nipples chafe too.
  4. Blisters aren’t a necessary evil. I have flat feet, so I need motion-control shoes to support my ankles. I ran for years in a brand recommended by a store that I trusted. I got blisters. It seemed like everyone did, so I didn’t worry about it. One year, on a whim, I tried a different brand. No blisters. If you’re blistering, try different shoes, different socks, etc.
  5. Variety is the spice of life. Making excuses to avoid your run? Try running someplace new. You’ll be surprised by how much fun comes rushing back into your workout.
  6. Always carry ID. Do I really need to explain this? Medicalert jewelry and runner ID (like this) are mandatory. They can save your life.
  7. Seek community. Find a running partner. Subscribe to magazines. Join running clubs. Your local running store can help you. Community offers support and information. We often do for others what we wouldn’t do on our own.

As always: Run like a child!

