TweetDeck vs. Seesmic

Posted on September 2, 2009

2


I wasn’t on Twitter very long before I had over 100 followers, and was following over 100 people. Their posts scrolled off the bottom of my Twitter page so fast it was tough to keep up with them all. I started looking for tools to better manage Tweets.

Seesmic

I started with Seesmic. It was easy to install, and free. It let me post to either Facebook or Twitter, or both simultaneously. It had built-in URL shortening, and I could choose among four services. I could archive posts. I could create user lists. I could search for replies and direct messages in Twitter. I could search Twitter simply by clicking on a hashtag, and Seesmic kept the searches in a list on the left side of the screen so I could revisit them at will. I could click on a user’s name in Twitter and see their bio, plus their Twitter stream. It let me see if Facebook posts had comments or “likes,” and let me go directly to those within Seesmic.

Most importantly, Seesmic let me scroll through 200 messages at a time. Since I’m not on Twitter constantly, that was invaluable.

TweetDeck

A friend recommended TweetDeck, so I checked it out. It was also free and easy to install. It has most of the same features as Seesmic, with a few exceptions. TweetDeck makes it easy to see which of your Facebook friends is online, and to open up chat with them – a feature that I can’t find in Seesmic. TweetDeck really shines when it comes to grouping. You can (and should) assign people you follow to a group. Their tweets will only show up in the group column. This makes it much easier for you to follow people, and to track why you follow them. TweetDeck removes tweets once you’ve read them. So if you open TweetDeck, close it, and open it again later, it will show what was posted since the last time it was opened – but nothing before that. TweetDeck does not show your updates. TweetDeck does not show comments/likes for Facebook updates. Clicking a hashtag opens your web browser and sends you to Twitter.com, rather than remaining within the application.

YMMV

For me, Seesmic is the way to go. TweetDeck may be very powerful, but I have to work too hard to configure the options. Seesmic doesn’t erase Twitterstreams, and lets me easily scroll through 200 posts. Your mileage may vary.

Posted in: Marketing