Review: Zombieland

Posted on October 5, 2009

0


What can I say about Zombieland that you haven’t already heard? I don’t know if there’s anything left. It’s the biggest opening in Woody Harrelson’s career (yes, even bigger than Oliver Stone’s Natural Born Killers). Zombieland was the top movie at US box offices last weekend.

The Movie

In case you’ve had your head buried in the sand, Zombieland is a movie set after the zombie apocalypse. Survivors stumble into each other, kill zombies, and head for an amusement park in California rumored to be completely zombie-free. If that doesn’t totally sell you on Zombieland, you’re not the target audience. I clearly am.

The Reviews

I read two reviews before I went to see the film. The first didn’t like it much, focusing on how much gore the director used and how many slow-motion deaths he could rack up. After seeing the movie, I wondered if that reviewer even watched past the opening credits.

The second promised a lot:

Games, particularly the kind that get optioned by Hollywood, are supposed to be fun. Movies based on games, however, take themselves altogether too seriously, evoking the mood of the dour, pixel-faced characters rather than the thrill of the bloodthirsty, button-mashing gameplay.Zombieland, with its belching, goo-spewing undead, looks at the scenery of a video game through a fanboy’s eyes. What’s the point of wading through a zombie nation if you’re not going to kick some zombie ass?

Nut Up or Shut Up

In my opinion, Zombieland delivers solidly on the button-mashing fun. It falls solidly into the zom-rom-com genre pioneered by Shaun of the Dead. I laughed. I jumped in my seat a couple of times. I added to my favorite quotes list. I’m glad I went.

Posted in: Movies