14th Annual Pumpkin Push 5K

Posted on October 25, 2009

0


Logo for Pumpkin Push

Logo for Pumpkin Push

I ran this race on Saturday, October 24th, 2009. If you like, you can see the route map here. According to End:Result, there were 830 finishers, and the average time was 32:27. An amusing bit of trivia is that there were 515 female runners and 300 male, so apparently 15 people weren’t sure. Officially, my gun time was 30:26 and my actual time was 30:18, or 9:45/mile. I was satisfied with my time even before I realized it was faster than average.

Random Thoughts from the Race

  • Favorite t-shirts: “The cake is a lie,” and “Run like a mother.”
  • Underdog is a fairly practical costume for Seattle in late October, since it covers most of your body and the floppy ears cover your own ears. Wonder Woman? Not so much.
  • A sunny day after several days of rain means lots of allergens in the air.
  • I didn’t take many pictures, but they’re here.
  • I felt silly wearing tights to the race, even though it was cold before the sun came up, until I saw people in costumes.
  • That hill around 1.5 miles is a heartbreaker.
  • I’m pleased with my self-control. Realizing that my first half-mile passed in about 3:30, I was able to slow down to around 4:45 for next.

Well, there you have it. A quick, fun run in a beautiful park on the kind of Fall day we rarely have.

Posted in: running