More Mistakes

Posted on October 29, 2009

0


A week or so ago, a family member who’s studying for the clergy, mentioned that he was struggling with Job. I was tempted to write a blog post about that particularly book of the Bible, but that’s pretty far outside this blog’s subject area. Instead, I’m going to stick to yesterday’s topic and give you a quote from a book that I’m reading – Robert Townsend’s Further Up the Organization.

Mistakes

Admit your own mistakes openly, maybe even joyfully.

Encourage your associates to do likewise by commiserating with them. Never castigate. Babies learn to walk by falling down. If you beat a baby every time he falls down, he’ll never care much for walking.

My batting average on decisions at Avis was no better than .333. Two out of every three decisions I made were wrong. But my mistakes were discussed openly and most of them corrected with a little help from my friends.

Beware the boss who walks on water and never makes a mistake. Save yourself a lot of grief and seek employment elsewhere.

Words to keep in mind.

Posted in: Leadership