The Widow’s Mite

Posted on November 16, 2009

0


I wrote recently about my in-laws helping us with remodeling our bathroom. It’s not a terrifically expensive project – all told, it cost less than $1,000 since we did the work ourselves. However, some of the people I asked for help couldn’t, and that got me thinking about how we help each other.

I remembered the story of the widow’s mite. We each give according to what we can. The value of our gift is not in relation to other gifts, but rather in what we can afford. If you have two pennies and give one to a panhandler, you’ve give half of what you have. If you have a million dollars and give a homeless person $5, you’ve given hardly anything.

I realized that we can all help each other, and that even the smallest support is meaningful.I confess that there have been times when I haven’t offered to help a friend or family member, because I thought I couldn’t help very much. I was wrong. Whether I have the skill or resources or I don’t, I can do something, and I should. Imagine if we all thought that way about our friends, family, and neighbors.

Tagged: , , ,