Holiday Pops and Cirque de la Symphonie

Posted on December 15, 2009

0


Last week I caught up on gaming at my other blog. This week I’ll try to catch up on some cool things other than gaming.

I’d like to start with a plug for Paolo’s Italian Restaurant. A neighborhood Italian cucina in Kent, Washington, Paolo’s serves very good Italian food in reasonable portions at great prices. We had a lovely four course meal there Saturday night. They do serve lunch, as well, and I highly recommend checking it out if you’re in the area.

This past weekend, courtesy of my in-laws, I got to attend the Seattle Symphony’s Holiday Pops and Cirque de la Symphonie concert. I had attended the Holiday Pops concert in the past, and enjoyed it. It really got me in the holiday spirit. Until this past Saturday, the closest I’d gotten to Cirque du Soleil was The Simpsons.

Seven Cirque performers – three aerialists, a dancer, two strong men, and a juggler – performed during the concert. The athleticism was breath-taking. It made me want to go see a full Cirque du Soleil performance.

The Seattle Symphony, with guest conductor Gregory Vajda, performed beautifully in the S. Mark Taper Foundation Auditorium of Benaroya Hall. If I have any complaints it’s that some of the music was unrelated to the holidays, and the audience’s applause during the Cirque act obscured the music.

Overall, it was a thrilling experience and I am really glad that I got to see it.

Tomorrow I’ll talk about starting Saturday with a 10K race…

Posted in: Self-Reference