Exercise Program, Weeks 3-5

Posted on February 17, 2010

0


Week 3 of the three challenges I’m trying is all about exhaustion tests. Basically you just do the exercise, in good form, as much as you can, until your muscles can’t go on. Over the course of two days, I did 31 sit-ups, 50 squats, and 20 push-ups. That was a significant increase from my original test for sit-ups and squats, but not so much for push-ups. I can’t help but think that when I was in the Army, 20+ years ago, I could do much better. It’s, uhm…sobering, at best.

Week 4 started well. I managed 359 sit-ups and 407 squats before I caught a cold. I even managed 95 push-ups. I noticed a couple of things while working out. First, I could exercise even with a cold. I didn’t stop because I couldn’t do it, I stopped to reduce the strain on my body. I wanted to marshal my resources for getting well. Second, I suddenly didn’t need to cheat on push-ups. Squats and sit-ups were harder and harder, but the push-ups came easily. I was pleasantly surprised.

Week 5 I’m taking off to finish my recovery. My intent is to go back to the Week 4 numbers, repeat the week, and carry on stronger than ever.

Tagged: