The Census

Posted on June 15, 2010

0


I’ve mentioned before that I work for the US Census. Every year ending in zero since 1790, the United States has counted all the residents within the country. Originally, that was because it took nine years to count everyone! The decennial census is conducted almost entirely by temp workers, which amazes me.

The other day I was chatting with some former co-workers from Wizards of the Coast, and it struck me how lucky I am. Our administrative team is made up of individuals from their early twenties to their early seventies. We have men and women on the team, most of whom were out of work (or under-worked) before the census work began. They are smart and funny, and they share an excellent work ethic.

I’m delighted that I’ve made some small improvements in our work. I started asking, “What can I do for you?” and “How can I help?” The rest of the team now asks for direction the same way.

I’m lucky to be in a team like that. It’s sad that it will end in a few months, but I walk a little prouder because I know them.

