Kent Cornucopia Days 5K

Posted on July 13, 2010

0


The 2010 Kent Cornucopia Days 5K was on July 10th this year.

I picked up my number and t-shirt on the 7th, at Road Runner Sports. It was fun to go down to Kent Station and see so many people walking around with their bright yellow t-shirts. It was like being part of a secret club or something. My number was 777, which everyone thought was pretty cool.

The starting area was easy to find, and very close to my house. Day-of-race registration started at 7:30 AM. I got there about 8:00 AM.The starting gun was at 9:00 AM. There was both a run and a walk.

It’s a pretty simple, no-frills event. That’s not a criticism, just a statement of fact. No radio stations sponsor it, so there’s no music at the start. The starting area had plenty of shade, lots of grass for stretching, plenty of parking, and not quite enough port-a-johns. About 500 people pre-registered, and they expected 100-200 more to register day-of-race. I’m not sure they had that many, but they might have.

The weather was sunny and warm, but not terribly hot. The course is pretty flat – mostly following the the Green River. It’s an out-and-back course, which is not my favorite thing. The fact that it was on Frager Road (mostly) is misleading. Frager Road is barely two lanes wide at the best of times, and because it runs along the Green River levee, it’s now almost entirely covered by industrial-sized sandbags. That made the course very narrow. That said, the course was very well thought out. I saw almost no conflict between out-bound and in-bound racers. There are also some nice views along the way.

I don’t have my results yet, and I pushed the wrong button on my watch at the finish line so I don’t even have an unofficial time. I know it was 30-32 minutes, which is slow for me.

It’s really best to regard this race as a Fun Run, because of the runners and walkers can conflict on the out-and-back course.

Posted in: running