Politics

Posted on October 20, 2010

0


I was going to write about recent customer service experiences with Comcast, when I saw one too many political commercials.

  • Patty Murray (D)? Patty, 18 years is too long. Our founding fathers expected people to run for office out of civic duty. They did not anticipate career politicians who spend their time lining up consulting or lobbyist jobs when they finally lose an election. Ma’am, you need to take some time off.
  • Dino Rossi (R)? Dino, I saw your attack ads slamming Patty Murray’s attack ads long before I saw any of her attack ads. In fact, I’m pretty sure that you’ve been a politician as long as Ms. Murray, so slamming her for 18 years in Washington DC is maybe not the best tactic.

Every election year, there comes a point where I want to write in, “Anybody Else.” I’m at that point. In fact, I think “anybody else” should be a ballot choice in any state race. If a plurality of voters choose “anybody else,” then the two candidates cannot run for that office and we have a run-off ballot with the next two candidates from the primaries. That would, I believe, force better management of political campaign marketing. Candidates could not afford to over-spend or to over-expose their campaigns, nor could they run smear campaigns. If they disgusted the voters, they would be legally disqualified from the election.

Of course, that’s my crazy world where people still believe in honor, honesty, and civic duty; where campaign spending has clear, hard limits; and where we actually have a chance of passing term limits on lawmakers.

Posted in: Uncategorized