Giving Thanks

Posted on November 24, 2010

1


It’s traditional in the United States to use this time of year to be thankful for what you have, rather than upset by what you don’t (we save that for after we open gifts on Christmas). I couldn’t think of anything else for my Wednesday blog entry, so here goes. I am thankful for…

  • People who read my blog. I know there aren’t many of you, but that makes each one of you more precious to me.
  • A roof over my head. I seriously thought we would lose or give up our house in 2009, and here it is  more than a year later and we’re still current on our payments. We’re not caught up in any crazy balloon payments, there’s no foreclosure process, and no worries about which bank holds our paper.
  • Friends and family. We didn’t get here alone. Honestly, I don’t know what I would do without them. I used to think that people measured my success by my independence, and therefore I could never need other people. Now I think that I measure my success by the love of friends and family.
  • My wife. We’ve been together over sixteen years now (married for more than twelve), and I love her now more than ever.
  • Who I’ve become. I thank God and friends and family, especially my wife, for helping me to become the person I am now. I like me so much more than I did twenty years ago, it’s not even funny.
  • Optimism. Times have been tough the last few years, but I’m still excited by what each day can bring.

That seems like a good list. Happy Thanksgiving!

Tagged:
Posted in: Self-Reference