Learning from Movies: El Dorado

Posted on April 4, 2011

0


No, not some Disney animated feature. I’m talking about the 1966 Howard Hawks’ Western with John Wayne, Robert Mitchum, James Caan, and Ed Asner.

  • Never send a boy to do a man’s work.
  • You never know when something you did will come back to help, or to haunt, you.
  • I’m paid to risk my neck. I’ll decide where and when I’ll do it. This isn’t it.
    • Just because someone pays you doesn’t mean you should stop thinking.
  • Faith can move mountains, but it can’t beat a faster draw.
  • Never stop looking for a solution.
    • In the movie, Mississippi (played by James Caan) starts out using a knife because he can’t shoot. After Cole Thornton (played by John Wayne) gives up on teaching him, Cole buys him a sawed-off shotgun. Mississippi still can’t shoot, but that never stops him from fighting for his friends.
    • When an old wound paralyzes Cole’s right side, he still works with his friends to find a way to protect the MacDonald family and save El Dorado.
  • I forgot the words, but you better say ‘I do’!
  • You didn’t give me any chance at all, did you?

 

Posted in: Movies