Don’t “Just Look Away”

Posted on May 27, 2011

0


As I mentioned on Monday, this column is moving to Forces of Geek. Here are the logos that will be used there:


My first appearance on Forces of Geek will be June 6th, the 67th anniversary of the D-Day landings, which makes a nice segue to a post I make every year.

Memorial Day

This coming Monday is Memorial Day in the United States. It was enacted after the Civil War. At that time, Union and Confederate dead were buried separately. The story goes that military personnel, after the war, observed a group of townsfolk cleaning the graves of their dead – and then crossing over to the other side of the cemetery to do the same for the graves of the opposition. That willingness to forgive, and to treat both sides with equal honor and dignity, inspired the observation of what was initially called Decoration Day.

After WWI, the US government extended the holiday to honor the dead from all wars. I know it’s the Indianapolis 500, and the Coca-Cola 600. I know there are tons of huge sales. I know it’s the unofficial start of summer holidays across the country, and that’s all wonderful. I would just ask that we all find a moment to reflect on the last 20 years of US military conflict (Iraq twice, Bosnia, Somalia twice, and Afghanistan – and those are just off the top of my head), and to find gratitude in our hearts for those who paid the ultimate price for our freedoms.

