Just Look…Over There

Posted on June 3, 2011

2


 

 

Next Friday, Just Look Away debuts at Forces of Geek. I started this column on Christmas Eve of 2010, with the goal of posting every week for a year. I still intend to do at least 52 posts, combining what I did here and what I’m doing at the new venue. Meanwhile, here’s a summary of columns:

  1. Against the Dark
  2. Give ‘Em Hell, Malone
  3. Armed Response
  4. Shaolin vs Evil Dead 2: Ultimate Power
  5. Steele Justice
  6. Eliminators
  7. Megapython vs. Gatoroid
  8. Tremors
  9. Gone in 60 Seconds
  10. Leviathan
  11. Circle of Iron
  12. Mother
  13. Marshal Law
  14. Sherlock Holmes
  15. Red Sonja
  16. Highlander II: The Quickening
  17. Latitude Zero
  18. Hobo with a Shotgun
  19. Timebomb
  20. R.O.T.O.R.
  21. Sunset
  22. Sucker Punch

So, looking back at that list, I suppose that I should confess something: I liked Highlander II when I saw it in the theater. That’s why I generally write about older movies. A little time passing lets the initial zest fade, and the true horror appear. I can write more honestly, and more objectively, when a movie has time to settle into my thinking. Then again, some movies are so awful they deserve immediate comment (looking at you, Zach Snyder, Tiffany, and Deborah Gibson).

See you next week!

Crocodile Tears

Got a movie you want analyzed, or shredded, or just mocked? Let us know in the comments.

Posted in: Movies