NaNoWriMo: Ideas

Posted on August 17, 2011

0


For those not hep to the jive, November is National Novel Writing Month. Here’s why I’m talking about it now:

I spent this week working on a character, a context, and a conflict for NaNoWriMo. When I get a free moment at work, I’ve been making notes. I’ve got a leather-bound journal that was one of the earliest presents that my wife gave me (she’s always believed in me as a writer, and supports my efforts), and I’ve filled pages with information about my story.

I’m not done making notes. Sometime in September I’ll start outlining. Well, to be honest, I’ll probably wind up expanding my notes while I’m outlining, and outlining while I make notes. By the end of October, I hope to have a detailed outline ready.

You don’t need an outline to participate in NaNoWriMo. I didn’t use one last year, and I “won.”However, at the end of the month, when I reviewed my unfinished novel, I found that I had contradicted myself. Later details reversed earlier ones. In my own defense, I stumbled into NaNoWriMo last year, and I used a character and a context that had kicked around in my head for a couple of years. The conflict just kind of came to me as I wrote.

I hope that with a better outline, and better notes, things will go smoother this year.

The whole point of NaNoWriMo is to get you in the habit of getting words on paper every day. That’s very useful, even if you don’t want to write a novel. So join me this year. Sign up on the site (link in the first line of the post), and send me an invite to be writing buddies. My username is RichRedman.

Create!

Tagged:
Posted in: Uncategorized