Outlining the Future

Posted on September 11, 2011

0


What’s Going On

It’s been awhile. I’ve been working on a contract (ended last Wednesday), and writing for Forces of Geek. I’m really not sure what’s going to happen with NaNoWriMo. I’m working hard for dungeonaday.com and starting to line up more freelance projects, while looking for more work. It won’t come find me. I’ve got to hustle to find it.

So today, I thought I’d update my progress on my goal toward 52 weeks of Learning from Movies and Just Look Away.

Learning from Movies

  1. Indiana Jones franchise
  2. Aliens 
  3. Die Hard
  4. Big Trouble in Little China
  5. The Adventures of Buckaroo Banzai across the 8th Dimension
  6. Hudson Hawk
  7. Rocky franchise
  8. Tremors
  9. Conan the Barbarian
  10. Ferris Bueller’s Day Off
  11. Ronin
  12. Major League
  13. Bull Durham
  14. Kelly’s Heroes
  15. The Magnificent Seven
  16. El Dorado
  17. The Replacements
  18. Office Space
  19. Secondhand Lions
  20. Harley Davidson and the Marlboro Man
  21. Red Sun
  22. Under the Rainbow

Then we pick up at Forces of Geek:

23. The Longest Day

24. Deep Rising

25. The Addams Family

26. The Princess Bride

26. Smokey and the Bandit

27. Kick-Ass

28. Time Bandits

29. How to Train Your Dragon

30. I missed this week. Still aiming for 52 weeks, but I guess that will take longer than I thought.

31. Silverado

32. Mad Max: The Road Warrior

33. The Mummy

34. Robin and the 7 Hoods

35. Fletch

Just Look Away

  1. Against the Dark
  2. Give ‘Em Hell, Malone
  3. Armed Response
  4. Shaolin vs Evil Dead 2: Ultimate Power
  5. Steele Justice
  6. Eliminators
  7. Megapython vs. Gatoroid
  8. Tremors
  9. Gone in 60 Seconds
  10. Leviathan
  11. Circle of Iron
  12. Mother
  13. Marshal Law
  14. Sherlock Holmes
  15. Red Sonja
  16. Highlander II: The Quickening
  17. Latitude Zero
  18. Hobo with a Shotgun
  19. Timebomb
  20. R.O.T.O.R.
  21. Sunset
  22. Sucker Punch

And at Forces of Geek, there is…

23. Lifeforce

24. McHale’s Navy

25. Red Riding Hood

26. Blade: Trinity

27. Battle Beyond the Stars

28. Hot Tub Time Machine

29. Skyline

30. Year One

31.  The Chase

32. Every Which Way but Loose

33. Mad Max: Beyond Thunderdome

34. The Mummy: Tomb of the Dragon Emperor

35. Clash of the Titans

36. Dungeons and Dragons

So there you are: A complete index to-date for both columns. There’s more to come, I promise.

What’s Next

I’ve been enjoying my storytelling columns, and I think I’ll continue to do them – just not weekly. What I’ve been considering is a critique of television shows. There are a number that my wife and I stopped watching, and then started again; some that we stopped watching and see no reason to start again; and a few on the cusp. I thought I’d write about our (mostly my) decision-making process, and talk about how series change, sometimes for the better but mostly not.

So keep checking back. There will be new material. And thanks for reading.

