Dropped: Arrow

Posted on February 20, 2013

0


Arrow-TV-Show-Wallpaper

So what happened between November and now?

Bottom Line: Nothing specific.

I lost patience with Arrow. I kept waiting for it to gel for me, and it didn’t. I can be a bit more specific.

  • Stephen Amell isn’t taking us on an emotional journey. I can’t tell if it’s the writing or the acting.
  • The episodes go too fast. They are packed with action, so we never see the characters really dig into the moral and ethical questions surrounding vigilantism.
  • No one ever questions living in a universe with a costumed vigilante, AKA a super hero.
  • The writers keep throwing new elements from the comic book into the show, rather than developing what they already have.

It’s tempting to blame this on the CW, and its target audience. They aren’t making shows for critical thinkers. Some time I’ll have to tell you what I really think about Supernatural (it’s been On The Bubble since December, 2011). That said, I think they underestimate their audience. They could keep that audience, and build more, if they put a little more effort into it.

On the other hand, it may be that they don’t respect their source material. I mean, it’s a comic book for goodness sake. I can totally see disrespecting it. I can tell you, though, having worked on some licensed products, that you must find something you respect in your source material or you will only produce crap.

Thoughts?

Have you ever found something that you liked in a job that sucked?

Tagged: , ,
Posted in: television