Where’s Rich?

Posted on April 18, 2014

1


First the good news: I’m fine. The family is fine. Our pets are great. Everything is okay.

So, why no posts?

The short answer is work.

I work for REI. If you ever call the customer service team there, you may have spoken with me. We just wrapped up a very busy Member Appreciation sale. I had a lot of hours and I was working very hard. That’s good. I love working there.

Some new opportunities are opening up for me within REI, and I’m taking advantage of those, as well.

Meanwhile, I do game design work for LPJ Design.

I’ve also been working on the application process for a design position with Paizo Publishing. My supervisor at REI is also a gamer, and he brought the position to my attention in a “Hey, we’d hate to lose you, but you used to be a game designer and should know about this” way.

Whew.

On top of that…

I updated my PC to Windows 8.1 (which was easy, runs better than XP did, and still has security support), and I forgot to export and back-up some files. That included my “personal brand” bookmarks. Those included my WordPress site.

It’s easy enough to search out the site. Unfortunately, WordPress has decided not to recognize any of the Google Authenticator codes that I use as a two-stage security process. It did before, and now it doesn’t.

To make things even more complicated, my wife also has a WordPress site, and somehow WordPress thinks her cell phone number is my cell phone number. So their SMS security system was sending codes to her phone, and I didn’t figure it all out until yesterday.

When will there be a new movie post?

I’ve got a post I’m working on for next Wednesday, April 23, 2014. I’m switching focus to characters for this one.

Between now and then, I hope you have a wonderful weekend. See you next week.

 

Posted in: Self-Reference